Population and administrative categories

From an administrative stand point, Dolj district was formed from three municipalities; Craiova is a regional Centre, Calafat and Bailesti, 4 cities (Segarcea, Filiasi, Becket and Dabuleni), 104 municipalities and 380 villages. The first 10 places of Dolj district in population represent about 58% of the total population of the county (July 2009). Only in Craiova municipality there are concentrated 42% of the population of the county, which is the sixth largest in population city in Romania.